Weekend Wrap Up

Here is the little tray that accompanied my morning cup of coffee at the lodge:

Cream, chocolate and white chocolate shavings, sugar, fake sugars and vanilla whipped cream.  I couldn’t have been more tickled!  (Sorry for the terrible picture taken from my phone.)  Also, see the fire-place going in the background?  This is how to start one’s day.  And just for fun, yesterday’s breakfast:

Spiced Belgian waffles with berry compote or maple syrup and spiced, vanilla whipped cream.  Not a Cheerio in sight.

So, we are home.  Our get away could not have been more perfect.  It was a time for rest, rejuvenation and simply enjoying the grown-up life.  I did not miss the sound of Dora or Diego one tiny bit.  I did not miss the sticky, strawberry jam that is smeared daily on most surfaces in our house.  I did not miss tripping over toys, or washing bottles, or making mac&cheese, or changing poopy diapers.  I did miss my children (but, um, not 100% of the time).  I’m feeling very relaxed and happy to be back home; I’m ready to resume the drudgery of regular life with renewed energy and enthusiasm.  But my goodness, I enjoyed the heck out of every single minute of our pampered, grown-up weekend.  In the words of Oliver Twist, “Please sir, I want some more!”

1 Comment

  1. Oh, how wonderful that breakfast looks! And the fireplace… I’m so glad you are feeling renewed energy and happy to be home. 🙂

Leave a comment